How to Write an About Page

While the About Page is, yes, about you + your business, it’s more about how your business can help your ideal client. Basically, it should answer the unspoken question “Why should I work with YOU?”

3 Ways To Establish a Clear Point of Differentiation:

  • First person. Always. Instead of saying  “Kadena is……this this this blah blah blah” say “I am …” -- if you are a one woman/man show. Tell them that. People want to connect with a human. Invite them to connect with you in a personal way. Emotional connections are the primary basis for business relationships.

  • Lose the stiff stuff. No need to sound all corporatey. Remember, your voice is you on paper. People need to know you are who you are say you and you are not an imposter seeking to take advantage of them.

  • Let your readers in your space. Share your world with them in the most intrinsic way. You spill spaghetti sauce on a white shirt just like they do. Let them know that. Be unapologetically you. The best thing that you can do for your business is to be yourself. Trust me. You ARE enough.

About Page Recipe:

 

  • Ingredient #1: Feel their pain -- Speak to them in their own pain language. Use words that they use to express their feelings.

  • Ingredient #2: Tell them “It’s Ok…. I am here!” -- Give that “atta girl -- atta boy”, I get you. There is a light at the end of the tunnel.

  • Ingredient #3: Who are you anyway? -- Tell them about you, what you do, and why you do what you do.

  • Ingredient #4: Your work in action -- Share with them what it is like to work with you -- show them a preview of the “work with me” page.

  • Ingredient #5: Now what do you want them to do? -- The ultimate call to action. What do you want them to do? Get on your list? Set up a call with you?

 

Spicy BONUS Ingredient -- Some fun stuff -- totally unrelated to business. Top 10 things that I avoid…..Top 5 restaurants I adore….10 things my friends do not even know (until now….)....Keep it light and fun.

 

A FEW EXAMPLES:

Alexandra Franzen http://www.alexandrafranzen.com/about/

Ashley Ambirge http://www.themiddlefingerproject.org/the-67-emotions-of-online-success-my-story/

Brian Clark http://further.net/about/

Cigdem Kobu https://inkypath.com/about-cigdem-kobu/ 

Danielle LaPorte http://www.daniellelaporte.com/about/

Elizabeth Marie http://emariegallery.com/elizabeth-marie/

Esmé Weijun Wang www.esmewang.com/about/

Hiro Boga http://hiroboga.com/about/

Jeffrey Davis http://trackingwonder.com/our-story/

Jennifer Boykin http://www.lifeaftertampons.com/about-moi/

Jennifer Louden http://jenniferlouden.com/about/

Jonathan Mead http://paidtoexist.com/about/

Julie Daley http://www.unabashedlyfemale.com/about-julie/

Kadena Tate-Simon http://www.kadenatate.com/about/

Leonie Dawson http://leoniedawson.com/about/

Otiti Jasmine http://www.otitijasmine.com/about/

Paul Jarvis https://pjrvs.com/about/

Renu Murik www.blissandradiance.com/about-this-site/

ang Thi Duong  http://www.sangtastik.com/about-sang/

Yiye Zhang  www.yourlifeexpression.com/about_yiye/

YOUR TURN:

Photo by Fabian Irsara on Unsplash